What a great day to be a Carlton Kid!

A couple of weeks ago, the Carlton Kids team went to the Science Museum and they kindly opened their doors early for us to visit their Who am I? exhibition.

Who Am I 1

In September, we published The Ultimate Book About Me by Richard Platt, in partnership with the Science Museum to compliment the permanent exhibition Who am I?

The Ultimate Book About Me

This exhibition marks the 10th anniversary of the completion of the Human Genome Project, inviting us to explore the science of who we are through hands-on object displays. The exhibition helped us discover some of the characteristics that build our personality, intelligence and language.

Who Am I 2

Who Am I 3

Who Am I 4

Who Am I 5

Who Am I 6

There are five distinct areas exploring what makes us unique:

  • My Genes
  • My Body
  • My Brain
  • My Face
  • My Memory.

A highlight for us was What Am I Afraid Of? as there was a projection of a gigantic walking spider, evoking a reaction to one of the most common phobias.

I learnt a lot about my phobias and realised that I have a fear of things that are usually harmless. Most people with phobias cope with them by avoiding everything that evokes them. When we are afraid, reactions are triggered in our body that allow for fight or flight.

My phobia of spiders came from my parents who taught me that spiders in South America are poisonous and that has stayed with me ever since, even though I have lived in the UK for years now. Did you know that about one person in every eight people in UK has a phobia, yet it is said we are only born with two fears: falling and loud noises, the rest we learn along the way, be it rational or less so!

Another highlight was the window display Why Do You Look Like That? which showcased different faces and expressions for us to analyze. It also explained how other people recognize us. Even if you can’t remember someone’s name, there’s a good chance that their face is familiar to you. That’s because our brains are ‘wired’ to deal with faces in a special way. I learned that a region of the brain called the fusiform face area works especially hard when we see a face and try to remember who we are looking at.

It was such a privilege visiting this amazing facility and learning about the science behind who we are. There is no question that it was a fantastic day to be a Carlton Kid!

We made a film about our trip too!

Who am I? is a permanent free exhibition at the Science Museum and we think you should definitely check it out. Click here to find out more.

The Ultimate Book About Me is out now, priced £9.99 and you can order it from our website here.

Leave a Reply

